2022 Course details

COVID 19 Promise

If we have to cancel your course due to COVID-19, you have the choice to receive all your money back, including the deposit, or book a later course.  If you have to cancel your course booking because, under the COVID-19 regulations, you are self-isolating or unable to travel to the Club, then the same options apply.

Summer courses are going ahead subject to risk assessment procedures

Courses in 2022 are now fully booked but there is a waiting list in case of cancellation.

To make a provisional booking, you must first This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.(This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.). The Course Secretary will send you a link to an application form to confirm your provisional booking and within 10 days, please then either complete and submit the online form or post a completed form and arrange payment to Devon and Somerset Gliding Club, North Hill Airfield, Sheldon, Honiton, Devon, EX14 4QW.

Please note that your place on a course will only be allocated once your non-returnable deposit of £100 has been received along with a completed application form.  If the full outstanding balance is not received 6 weeks prior to the course start date, then your place will be reallocated to the reserve list.

Ian also holds a waiting list for cancellations.

  • Prices: DSGC Full Flying Members £360.00
  • Prices: Non-Members £570.00 (inclusive of 3 months membership)
  • Deposit: £100.00 on application, non-refundable
  • Balance payable 6 weeks before course start date
  • Full Terms and Conditions

Reserved course places for new DSGC members and non-members

Two places on each course will normally be held in reserve for new members joining this year, or non-members. Six weeks before each course start date, these places will be offered to waiting list applicants / other members.

Details of currently available courses are displayed below.  Check this page regularly, as more courses may be added during the year.  If you have any further questions please contact the course secretary Ian Hunt.

P Provisional booking subject to deposit   C Confirmed Booking   N-M Non-member or New member

Summer courses 2022


Course ref.




April 25 - 29



C1 Mark Courtney Steve Westlake

1) Gordon Hutchinson
2) Dave Perriam
3) Mike Meatyard



1) Chris Woodward (C)
2) Sandy Harrup (C)
3) James Lambert (N-M) (C)
4) James Dyke (N-M) (C)
5) Andy Pickrell (N-M) (C)
6) Lizzie Westcott (N-M) (C)


June 6 - 10





John Sillett

Guy Adams

1) Andrew Logan
2) Karen King (Mon, Tues)
3) Stirling Melhuish (Thur, Fri)
4) Dave Perriam (Mo,Tu,We,Thu)
5) George Sanderson (Fri)

1) Tim Powell (C)
2) Mike Meatyard (C)
3) Mike Rigby (C)
4) Andrew Broderick (C)
5) Paul Jobin (N-M) (C)
6) Tim Petty (C)



July 4 - 8





Martin Woolner

James Flory

1) Stirling Melhuish

2) Connor Williams

3) Emma Flory

1) Stuart Thomson (C)

2) Chris Woodward (C))

3) Kevin Fairburn (C)

4) Arthur Hayhoe (N-M) (C)

5) Aaron Harris (N-M) (C)

6) Jorg Beasley (N-M) (C)


August 1 - 5




Pete Harmer
James Flory

1) Jill Harmer
2) Emma Flory
3) Rob Rand

1) John Davis (C)
2) Mike Rigby (C)
3) Harry Rigby (C)
4) Gordon Hindle (N-M) (C)
5) Andy Pickrell (N-M) (C)
6) Tara Ashwood (N-M) (C)


August 15 - 19




Mike Sloggett

Peter Smith

1) Tim Petty
2) Dave Perriam
3) Hans Jenssen


1)  Jake Stabb (C)
2)  Luke Stabb (C)
3) Arnie Crosby (C)
4) Julian West (C)
5) Sam Jubb (N-M) (C)
6) Will Thiemann (N-M) (C)


September 5 - 9



C6 Peter Field
John Sillett


1) David Piper (N-M) (P)
2) Rushikesh Jadhav (N-M) (C)
3) Nicholas Johnson (N-M) (C)
4) David Morgan (N-M) (C)
5) Paul Jobin (N-M) (C)
6) Glyn Bellerby (N-M) (C)