President's Trophy


The President's Trophy (aka Norman Whyte Shield) was presented to the Club by Norman Whyte who was President 1957 to 1973.  It is awarded annually for the best progress.

In 2012, the Shield was completely full with winners date plates, and underwent a complete refurbishment, with all the past winners names engraved on a plate on the reverse.


In 2019, it was awarded jointly to Mark Worsfold, Emma Kendall and Dan Hender. Mark has shown great determination to reach solo using a mirror to lip read the Instructors words. Emma has soloed, converted to Junior, and flown solo power. Dan has soloed on his 14th birthday, converted to Junior and K6.

 Refurbished Presidents TrophyPresidents Trophy

Year Awarded to:
2019 Mark Worsfold, Emma Kendall, Dan Hender
2018 Andy Davey
2017 Ellie Carter
2016 Will Stainer
2015 Pete Bennett
2014 Matt Williamson
2013 Pete Bennett
2012 Mark Eatough
2011 Dylan Davies
2010 Rowan Smith
2009 Paul Summers
2008 Peter Smith
2007 Chris Aldridge
2006 Richard Barton
2005 Andrew Muggleston
2004 Richard Brown
2003 Stuart McKellar
2002 Claire Alston
2001 Bronia Shales
2000 Claire Alston
1999 Steve Westlake
1997 Robert  Lee, Peter Stapleton, Paul Carpenter
1996 Luke Roberts
1995 Julie Minson, James Warren
1994 John Murray
1993 Dick Stevens
1992 Richard Petheram
1991 Stuart Proctor
1990 Sarah Baldwin
1989 Rod Ward
1988 Alan Davison
1987 Tim Towers
1986 George White, Les Hill
1985 Steve Fitzgerald, Jonathan Smith
1984 Dave Brummitt
1983 Eddie Bromwell
1982 Dave Andrews
1981 Duncan Babbington
1980 D R Massam
1979 A H Thomas
1978 Gordon Peters
1977 Kevin Jenkins, Simon Minson,
1976 Louise Norton
1975 Alan Barnes
1974 Andrew Blackburn
1973 Tim Parsons
1972 R Young
1971 Dave Bailey
1970 Tim Jenvey, W C Weekes
1969 Nick Jones
1968 R M Cooper
1967 C H Slade
1966 Ted Hayter
1965 Pete Warren
1963 T C Brown
1962 G Leat
1961 Dave Minson
1960 RegChubb
1959 Audrey Kelsey
1958 Monty Dore

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of this site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

  I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive Module Information