Club trophies

Club Trophies

The annual presentation of trophies followed the AGM on Saturday evening. The leading cross-country pilots of the club,  took several of the awards for some great flights from North Hill.


The Devon and Somerset Gliding Club (DSGC) awards a number of trophies each year to club members.

Trophy Awarded for Current Holder 2018
Brian Master's Trophy Winner of the Task Week not awarded
Dave Fewings Memorial Shield Best two-seater flight from North Hill John Pursey & Phil Morrison
The Kennedy Trophy Best performance in a BGA rated competition Phil Morrison & Nick Jones
The Kelsey Plate Longest cross-country flight from North Hill Ron Johns & Dan Johns
Tim Parsons Trophy Earliest declared and completed flight over 300kms from North Hill Ron Johns & Nick Harrison
The Wily Old Bird personal presentation by the CFI for guile or cunning Tom Sides
The Rose Bowl Winner of the Club Ladder (flights from North Hill) Pete Startup
The Ken Andrews Trophy Best flight in a glider with handicap 90 or less from North Hill Tom Sides
Tim's Challenge Trophy First O/R to Lasham in a glider with handicap 90 or less from North Hill not awarded
Francis Bustard Tankard Best gain of height Rowan Smith
Presidents Trophy
aka The Norman Whyte Shield
Best progress Andy Davey
Instructor of the Year Member online vote Pete Harmer
Les' Tankard Best contribution to the Club by a Junior member Dan Hender
The Dick Wolff Trophy Best contribution to the Club by helping others Jill Harmer
Des Champ Vachables Trophy The member who achieved the greatest retrieve epicness  Wyn Davies
Le Magnifique Pissoir The most flights scoring less than 100pts on the ladder Rob Rand

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of this site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

  I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive Module Information