2018 Course details

Course dates for 2019 will be announced in the New Year.

To make a provisional booking, you must first This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.(This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.). Following confirmation of your provisional booking and within 10 days, please then either complete the online form or post a completed Summer Course Application Form and arrange payment to Devon and Somerset Gliding Club, North Hill Airfield, Sheldon, Honiton, Devon, EX14 4QW.

Please note that your place on a course will only be allocated once your non-returnable deposit of £100 has been received along with a completed application form.  If the full outstanding balance is not received 6 weeks prior to the course start date, then your place will be reallocated to the reserve list.

Ian also holds a waiting list for cancellations.

  • Prices: DSGC Full Flying Members £320.00
  • Prices: Non-Members £485.00 (inclusive of 3 months membership)
  • Deposit: £100.00 on application, non-refundable
  • Balance payable 6 weeks before course start date

Reserved course places for new DSGC members and non-members

Two places on each course will normally be held in reserve for new members joining this year, or non-members. Six weeks before each course start date, these places will be offered to waiting list applicants / other members.

Details of currently available courses are displayed below.  Check this page regularly, as more courses may be added during the year.  If you have any further questions please contact the course secretary Ian Hunt.

P Provisional booking subject to deposit   C Confirmed Booking   N-M Non-member or New member

Summer courses 2018


Course ref.




Apr 9 - 13


CANX due to weather

C1 John Sillett
James Flory

1) Ian Hunt (not Monday)
2) Tim Petty
3) William Pope (Monday)

4) Andy Davey

1) James Smart (C)
2) Andy Williams (C)
3) David Buss (C)
4) Sue Dyson (N-M) (C)
5) Jim Binning (N-M) (C)
6) Michael Thom (N-M) (C)


May 14 - 18



Mike Sloggett
Peter Smith

1) Richard Harris
2) Hans Jenssen
3) Robert Lee (Mon)
4)  Jonathan Erskine (Tues)
5) Ian Hunt (Wed, Fri am)
6) Jill Harmer (Thurs)
7) Pete Bennett (Fri pm)

1) Dave Cowley (C)
2) Rob Rand (C)
3) Michael Fawcett (C)
4) Andy Davey (C)
5) Mark Worsfold (C)
6) Nick Bromley (N-M) (C)


June 4 - 8


C3 Guy Adams
John Sillett

1) Robert Lee
2) Tim Petty
3) James Smart (Mon, Tues)

4) George Sanderson (Wed)
5) Jill Harmer (Thurs)
6) Graham Barden (Fri)

1) Simon Roach (C)
2) Jim Jux (C)
3) Mark Worsfold (C)
4) Jonathan Pettitt (N-M) (C)
5) Alexander Ridgeway (N-M) (C)
6) Andy Williams (C)


June 18 - 22 C1(B) John Sillett 1) Ian Hunt (Tues, Wed, Thurs, Fri) 1) James Smart (C)
 COURSE FULL   James Flory / 2) Tim Petty (Mon, Thurs, Fri) 2) David Buss (C)
     Peter Smith 3) Andy Davey 3) Sue Dyson (C)
      4) William Pope (Monday) 4) Jim Binning (N-M) (C)
      5) Tom Sides (Tues) 5) Michael Thomas (N-M) (C)
      6) Robert Lee (Wed) 6) Tim Powell (N-M) (C)

July 2 - 6



C4 Stu Procter
Martin Woolner

1) Robert Lee (Tues - Thurs)
2) Hans Jenssen
3) Andy Davey
4) William Pope (Mon)
5) Tim Petty (Fri)

1) Lukasz Kieruczenko (C)
2) David Herbert (C)
3) Wendy Willis-Fleming (C)
4) Mike Rigby (C)
5) Trevor Johnson (N-M) (C)
6) Michael Pearce (N-M) (C)


August 6 - 10



Pete Harmer
James Flory

1) Jill Harmer
2) Richard Harris
3) Aston Key

1) Oliver Handford (C)
2) Hans Jenssen (C)
3) Graham Hawker (C)
4) Michael Kellow (N-M) (C)
5) Jorge Beasley (N-M) (C)
6) Harry Rigby (C)


August 20 - 24


C6 Mark Courtney
Steve Westlake

1) James Hood
2) William Pope
3) James Smart (Thurs, Fri)

4)  Rob Rand  (Mon, Tues, Wed)

1) Reuben Buss (C)
2) Ross Pratt (C)
3) Josh Funnell (C)
4) Charlie Stuckey (C)
5) Oscar Katzinski (N-M) (C)
6) Alan Stoneham (N-M) (C)


September 3 - 7


C7 Peter Field
Mike Sloggett

1) Richard Harris
2) Allan Mounce
3) William Pope (Monday)
4) Graham Barden (Tuesday)
5) Ian Hunt (Wednesday)
6) Jill Harmer (Thursday)
7) Tim Petty (Friday)

1) Rob Rankin (P)
2) Andy Davey (P)
3) Emma Kendall  (N-M) (P)
4) Richard Copus (N-M) (C)
5) Andrew Darke (N-M) (C)
6) Douglas Gage (N-M) (C)



We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of this site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

  I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive Module Information